MML 2021 VR State Champion – TEAM SARAWAK

MML 2021 VR State Champion – TEAM SARAWAK

The first Marathon league in Malaysia was launched on 1st March 2021. The league is supported by Federal Territory Kuala Lumpur Athletic Association, Selangor Amateur Athletic Association, Penang Amateur Athletic Association, Kedah Amateur Athletic Association, Perak Athletic Association and Pahang Athletic Association.

In view of the pandemic, the league started with a virtual challenge called Malaysia Marathon League 2021 Virtual Edition. The technology to run the virtual league is sponsored by CheckPoint Spot Sdn Bhd.

“CheckPointSpot Virtual Race Platform is preferred by many race organizers because of the comprehensive ability to register participants, submit race results, automated leaderboard and personalized participants e-bib and e-certificate,” according to Benjamin Yeow, CEO of CheckPoint Spot Sdn Bhd.

Malaysia Marathon League 2021 Virtual Edition is also helping to raise funds for the respective State Athletic Associations as they are affected badly by the lockdown. 

"We charge a nominal fee of RM5 to join the event. A portion of this fee goes to the participating State associations. Participants will be proud to represent their State and contribute to the development of the sports"
Mr. Muregesu Soosaimany,
Hon. Secretary of FTKLAA.

There are 14 teams competing to be the first national champion – 13 States and 3 Federal Territories. Every runner has to complete 10.5KM in a single run during the designated race week. They will perform 4 runs in a month and accumulate 42KM to complete the event.

The top 10 fastest time in Men & Women category will be accumulated for the challenge. The team with the fastest accumulated time will be declared the winner.

More than 2,000 Malaysians joined the challenge, among them Mr. Soh Wai Ching who holds the 2nd fastest world record for tower running.

"Malaysia Marathon League | 42FM = 4 x weekly 10500m 👣 Team Champion ! Great achievement Team Sarawak. One for all & all for One ! Thank you for making this happen ! 🏁 🏅🙏🏼 This has built my come back for running during this pendemic. Hopefully all goes back normal and seeing each other on the run community & real deal event's. Thank you uAllz ! "
Baxter Howell
" Proud to be Malaysian.. Many thanks to the organizer for boosting up the Malaysian fighting spirits in pursuing goal. Mighty mighty Sarawak.. Hooooooohaaa!"
Aruni Mahendran
"Terima kasih, thank you everyone for making this event so memorable.Thank you MML Organizer for the awesome job. You rock! Taniah, congratulations to every one. MALAYSIA THE BEST. See you all in next event. #teamSarawak nang stidi.."
Jessie Man

Competition is tight among the teams as they race to better each other every week. Finally, after 4 weeks, the dust settled and #TeamSarawak emerged Champion with a total time of 68:17:35 followed by Federal Territory (71:35:02) and Selangor (72:51:44).

Although this is just a virtual challenge, Malaysia Marathon League manages to bring the running community together to beat the fatigue caused by the pandemic. Many runners are grateful and looking forward to 2022 series.

References for more information: Malaysia Marathon League –


Checkpoint Spot, Your One-Stop Race Solutions Provider.

Photo Credit to the group member/runners from Malaysia Marathon League Facebook group. 

Leave a Reply